It is great to be a Nani…

Three years ago, almost at the same time early in the morning, as the first rays of Sun lightened up the small hospital room in Hamirpur,  you arrived to brighten our life! You are rightly named Aarush—the first ray of the Sun!

I became a Nani. Before this day the word Nani would connote to me the feeling of warmth, protection, story-telling and love. And when I became a Nani myself I could feel a great responsibility on my shoulders as you, too, would expect the same from me,  I wanted to prepare myself for being a Nani to you, the real Nani.

You made me feel old. Suddenly, I became what a Nani has to be–old and wrinkled. Rather it was not that you made me feel old, it were the people around me that made me feel old. “Oh, now you are a Nani!” they would say and give a second appraising look which said  what they would not otherwise say. The words that they left unsaid, and the words that I made myself to believe that they never intended to say, were spoken by my own daughter. “Why do you still color your hair?” and would add emphatically, “now that you are a Nani!”

I started feeling old! I would watch critically at my clothes, and would ask myself, “Is it the right dress for a Nani?” I would not walk briskly as was my brand style but would walk slowly the way a Nani must walk as Nanis are supposed to be old and frail not young and strong! 🙂

But whatever changes I thought of bringing in my personality, I would be asking myself what kind of Nani would you have loved? Young and strong or old and weak, You are not having any clear cut ideas on your choice of a Nani and you have got a Nani that you are bound to love and accept and this Nani is young and strong.

I feel great to be a Nani. I love it to be a great looking Nani. One who walks briskly, one who jogs 3-4 Kms every morning, one who wears what she loves to put on. You cannot tell me whether you like to have this Nani or the stereotyped Nani but I am sure if you could tell me you would have love your Nani the way she is,

You have made me a different person. I love your antics, your moods and your twinkling eyes that speak volumes about your feelings. Your non-stop blabbers humor me!

I want to tell you stories–stories of my life, my times and even much old times!

I would leave behind stories for you that you might read one day and say, “I love you Nani!”

Happy Birthday dear Aarush!

2 thoughts on “It is great to be a Nani…

  1. Prachi mahajan

    HEY MAM
    REALLY LIKED THIS POST OF UR’S FOR AARUSH..LOT OF GOOD WISHES TO HIM…IT SYMBOLISES HOW OUR PERSONALITY CHANGES WITH NEW COMING RELATIONS IN OUR LIVES…I REALLY LIKED LAST LINES OF THIS BLOG..VERY TOUCHING…

Leave a Reply

