Amma:The Real Source of my Strength…

Sunday, 5 December, 2010

Talking to Amma in the morning and listening to her, full of life, banal details made me suddenly realize that here is the real source of my strength. She always has stood for me and is there when I need her. Her benign presence around me has always filled me up with a new courage. Whether it was when Nidhu, my eldest daughter, was blessed with a baby and I was all alone at Hamirpur to look after her, Amma came all the way travelling a distance of over 100 kilometers on a motorbik eas she could not wait a second when she knew that I needed her. Or whether at the time when I had to go to Shimla to consult a lawyer but could not leave behind Nidhu with a young infant, Amma was there so that I could be free to go to Shimla. Amma has always provided me with strength and courage whenever I seemed to dwindle and weakened!

I know where I have got this strength from. My courage, the stamina and indomitable spirit comes from my Amma! Though I was always closer to Bauji and was always his favourite but looking back I can see clearly that it was Amma who was the force behind even my Bauji.

Like all small girls I, sometimes, would hate Amma as she was so strict with us. She still is a perfectionist and does the things in a manner that puts to shame all the youngsters. Recently I have been able to see another aspect of her courage that makes her the most revered person in my life and I can say loud and clear that the genes that made me so strong, come from her!

Amma, I simply adore you!

3 thoughts on “Amma:The Real Source of my Strength…

  1. aarkay

    Well said, Ma’am ! It is impossible to repay the debt one owes to Amma. Unfortunately I lost mine more than seventeen years back. I still remember, how she spent six months with us to take care of my wife when she was in family way second time and all this when she herself was suffering from a terminal disease . She survived only for thirteen months after my son was born . Her wish to see my son growing up0 remained unfulfilled !

  2. saurabh bhakri

    We must honour the invaluable concern, love and sacrifice that the parents have made to us .. for we can never repay our debt for what all they have done for us … My humblest respects and wishes for all the best of health to Amma ji …

Leave a Reply

