No Nappy makes Aarush happy!

If you find him happy rather exuberant, it is because I have stopped my daughter from putting on diapers on the poor little baby! He seemed really grateful to me which he showed by cycling his legs with much force and vigor and putting on his best “Close-up” smile albeit sans teeth! But such a bewitching smile he has that it puts to shame all the glittering faces of top models of “Close-up” to shame.

I am a bit uncertain about the use of diapers on small babies. Perhaps I am too old fashioned and obsolete for the modern life style or the comforts of it. But my grandson proves me right. The moment his mom would get his diaper off, he would be so happy as if he was free of some bondage. Yes it was a bondage. And carrying the weight of a wet diaper by a baby was not less than a torture!

I good old days that is in my days, we used to stitch “potda”, a triangular napkin to be used as a baby nappy. The special cloth to be used would be the old cover of the quilts which would be of the softest material! And these days my daughter brought the baby diapers of the best quality and would put one on the baby during night. A good way for the mother to have some respite but these moms don’t know that what they are missing. How would they have stories to tell to their sons later on how they slept on the wet portion to make the baby sleep on the dry side of the  bed! I really pity the modern moms as they won’t be able to “emotionally blackmail” their son by talking about the hard time they had raising him during the winter months when he would wet the bed so many times and she would change not only napkins but also sides throughout the night to give him a comfortable sleep!

And this reminds me of the “khandolu” that my Ma would make so lovingly for my babies. I could not make “khandolus” for my grandson but my Ma was there and she made three “khandolus” for him! I had kept all the used cotton bedsheets and bed-covers which were painstakingly put in a fashion to make the “khandolu” soft enough for the baby skin and also thin enough to wash off for sanitary purposes.

The old “khandolus”,  of my own kids, in my home tell so many stories. When one of them was damaged, I peeped in side and found so many pieces of cloth and each piece of cloth had a story to tell. One from my Ma’s cotton suit, or her dupatta or my father’s bed-cover. The colors were disfigured and the smell was old and rusty but the fragrance of old memories, they filled my present with, was marvelous.

So I am a no-nappies-nani, an old fashioned and obsolete nani by the modern standards may be!

One thought on “No Nappy makes Aarush happy!

  1. Prem Piyush

    ” each piece of cloth had a story to tell” yeah .. each layer’s cloth do carry a legacy of events and stories.

    May be that’s the best ‘resting foundation’ to grow with….

    Would like to read about something, when parents carry the infants, not on their laps or shoulders but “Hanging them in front like descendants of Kangaroos”

Leave a Reply

