The Star Gathering at IIAS, Shimla…

24 October, 2009

How do you feel when you see Shyam Bengal, the eminent film maker, Hon’ble Minsioter Salman Khurshid, sipping a cup of coffee next to you, His Excellency Gopal Gandhi, the Governor of West Bengal standing in the sun and surrounded by news people and what more Nayan Tara Sahgal, commenting on how beautiful your saree is!

It was a dream world. The stars had all come to dazzle the Historic Seminar room of the Indian Institute of Advanced Study at Shimla. The best part was that they all were so very human that It was shockingly pleasant to a person liek me. Nayan Tara Sahgal, my favourite  author during my college days commenting on my saree, mesmerized me. Her fragile and delicate frame but a steely resolve to take stand during Emergency, that she recounted, made me literally swoon over her moral strength. I would write in detail about all the small details that I could catch up during this clase observation of these and many more dignitaries on 24 October, 2009. Let me catch my breath for the time being!!

One thought on “The Star Gathering at IIAS, Shimla…

  1. aarkay

    How i envy you.Ma’am, for the good fortune you had, to be among the Galaxy of eminent personalities, some of them enumerated by you.It does take a steely resolve to take cudgels against the high and mighty, especially when he/she also happens to be your own cousin. If i am not wrong, both Ms Nayantara Sehgal & Late Ms Gandhi happened to be first cousins.Another of my favourites among these dignitaries is the eminent historian Mr. Ramchandra Guha.Shall be looking forward to more from you.

Leave a Reply

