Denuding Kamand to set up IIT Mandi…

The Heavenly Kamnad

The news that the Forest Department of the Himachal Government will be cutting a lot of trees, to the tune of thousands,  to make way for the setting up of a premier Institution IIT Mandi, made me feel sad for Kamand. I could visualize the mute trees whose fate was sealed and decided in the air-conditioned office of some administrator who had little or no knowledge about denuding the already declining forest cover in Himachal.

I felt sad—very sad as I had spent some very happy days of my life among these trees at Kamand! The first time I saw Kamand from the window of our vehicle, I could not stop myself from exclaiming, “How beautiful!” and that too when such sceneries were not something new to me being born and brought up in Himachal. But there was something heavenly about Kamand.

Kamand is a picturesque destination for all who want to rejuvenate their lifeless mundane existence that the banality of city life does to us. The experience of the clean and pure air of Kamand, the farm fresh milk of the cows of the Kamand Cattle Farm and the refreshing long walks in the evening remains etched in my mind. For countell hours I would be gazing at just nothing but the nature around me. The trees in our courtyard seemed to speak to me of the times they had witnessed and the fact that now those will be cut down, is killing me. I remember each and every tree on the campus of the Cattle Breeding Farm which, unfortunately, is the point where the inauguration for the new IIT Mandi was laid. It had so many trees around it. I am so sad that all that is going to be lost to the coming generations. I wish Sunderlal Bahuguna, during his present trip to Himachal, does something to take up this issue with the right persons. Someone in the corridors of power may listen to his voice. Is it not ironic that the newspapers reported on 10 September, 2009 of the impending cutting of so many trees to make way for the IIT Mandi at Kamand and today the statement of Sunder Lal Bahugana to save trees in Himachal has been reported. Doesn’t someone take notice of the sheer irony of news reports coming barely at the difference of one day.

I hope Prof Prem Kumar Dhumal listens to my feeble voice or the HRD Minister Kapil Sibal takes notice of my pleas!

5 thoughts on “Denuding Kamand to set up IIT Mandi…

  1. Ashutosh

    ohhhh these people don’t even care much about living Human then how do you expect them to care for trees??
    Planning IIT at Kamand was mistake at the first place itself.

  2. Altaf Raja

    It happened like this. Govt realized there were so many trees in Kamand. The place was too beautiful to be ignored. Govt became jealous. Lets cut these trees and show them who is the boss. What if people oppose it. Lets give them a toy named IIT to play with. Mission accomplished. No tree challenges Govt and gets away. Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
    Why don’t you suggest some alternate place or tell Govt you don’t need IIT. Trees will be happy.

  3. Sumi

    I am really sad after reading this. Just happened to come across your blog, as I was trying to get information about Kamand, as I was thinking of applying as a faculty to IIT Mandi. But this is the saddest of scenarios. I can not imagine that the country is run by such fools. If there should be a IIT in Kamand, it should be well blend to its geography and culture. You can not bruise nature to undertake state-of-the-art construction. It really brings tears to my eyes to imagine the present form of the place.

    1. The main aim of IITs is to not only produce excellent engineers but also to develop the area in which they have been setup by collaborating with the existing industries and setting up new industries. I totally agree with you about your point on cutting down trees but if you look at a broader issue you might realize that in the nutshell IIT will nurture the cillage of Kamand to become the city of Kamand. Do keep in mind the developments which took place in the the township of Mandi in less than 3 years of establishing a temporary IIT campus in Mandi.
      With due Respect
      Umang Jain
      Student, IIT Mandi

  4. The main aim of IITs is to not only produce excellent engineers but also to develop the area in which they have been setup by collaborating with the existing industries and setting up new industries. I totally agree with you about your point on cutting down trees but if you look at a broader issue you might realize that in the nutshell IIT will nurture the cillage of Kamand to become the city of Kamand. Do keep in mind the developments which took place in the the township of Mandi in less than 3 years of establishing a temporary IIT campus in Mandi.
    With due Respect
    Umang Jain
    Student, IIT Mandi

Leave a Reply

