Ek Boond–A Raindrop on the Pine Needle

dazzling-diamonds.jpg
Dazzling Diamonds on Pine Needles

ज्यों निकल कर बादलों की गोद से
थी अभी एक बूँद कुछ आगे बढ़ी
सोचने फिर फिर यही जी में लगी
हाय क्यों घर छोड़ कर मैं यों कढ़ी
मैं बचूँगी या मिलूँगी धूल में
चू पड़ूँगी या कमल के फूल में
बह गयी उस काल एक ऐसी हवा
वो समन्दर ओर आयी अनमनी
एक सुन्दर सीप का मुँह था खुला
वो उसी में जा गिरी मोती बनी
लोग यौं ही हैं झिझकते सोचते
जबकि उनको छोड़ना पड़ता है घर
किन्तु घर का छोड़ना अक्सर उन्हें
बूँद लौं कुछ और ही देता है कर !
-अयोध्या सिंह उपाध्याय ‘हरिऔध
Watching out of the window from my room, my attention was caught by the rain drops precariously balancing themselves on the tapering pine needles. Precarious situation indeed as the very next moment they could fall down and be a non-entity. But did it make them lose the jest for life? I found them glistening in the light and adding to the beauty of the pine needles. The poem “Ek Boond” cam to my mind but the situation that I was analyzing was quite different. Harioudh’s raindrop is worried about the kind of life that awaited her. It questions the wisdom of its decision to leave the safety of its home, the lap of the cloud.

“Why did I leave the comfort of home? O God! What is in my fate? Will I fall on a heap of dust and become mud? Or will I fall on an amber and get burned? Or will I land on a beautiful lotus flower?”

It sure is her good fortune that a gust of wind carries her and towards the ocean
she falls into the open mouth of an oyster and becomes a pearl. A happy ending for the lucky rain drop but what would have happened had it been fallen in places that it dreaded? Is it the fate of all the rain drops to have such a befitting life?

I was mesmerized by the delicate situation under which the rain drops still adhered to the pine needles. I was worried about their future. The sun would come out any moment from behind the clouds and its heat sure would make the rain drops a thing of past. Or what if strong gust of wind snaps them off from the pine needles that they were clinging to? Were the pine needles capable enough to provide the much needed support to the raindrops? A look at the scrawny needles that would move any direction on slight provocation made me worried about the future that awaited these rain drops. The foolish raindrops—I cursed them. But did they have any choice where they would fall? No, they were just toys in the hand of destiny and were playing the part assigned to them.

But what could be their part in the cosmos, if not just waiting for an assured and cruel end? Suddenly the light reflected by one of the raindrops made me realize the beauty that these drops were spreading in the atmosphere. The beauty that had captured me. I was suddenly filled with awe at the great contribution that these tiny raindrops made to the entire scene. “A thing of beauty is joy for ever.” The famous poem Daffodils must have come to Wordworth after watching such a scene. My heart, too, was filled with joy. Instead of being worried about the imminent death that awaited them, I started to appreciate the precious moments of my life that these drops had filled with beauty. It is just a matter of perspective that helps one see the greatest good even when everything seems dark and dismal. These drops had given, in short stint of their being, a memorable experience to the pine needles too, that dazzled with beauty with these pristine drops on them. But did it appreciate the contribution and the sacrifice that had gone into making those short moments worthwhile? Even if not, did it really matter? It didn’t matter at all.

I got up and went away from the window. My heart was serene and calm as these small raindrops had taught me, once again, a deep truth of life that instead of praying for the fortune to fall in the open mouth of an oyster, one should endeavour to make the life beautiful.

 

6 thoughts on “Ek Boond–A Raindrop on the Pine Needle

Leave a Reply

