The Second Coming:A Personal Realization

Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.

Travelling back the memory lanes, I recollected the feeling generated in “the mother” inside me when my son was born. The day is significant as this was when my son, a small bundle of joy, came to our life and also because I found a stronger bond which connected me to my daughter. When I was groaning in intense labour pains, my two years old daughter, not fully understanding what was happening, started to cry at the top of her voice. She cried so much that even today I am able to hear all those heart wrenching cries. She was in pain as I was in pain. She was being supportive to me as I try to be supportive to her today. But she didn’t understand all that happening to me but I am in a position to see all that is happening to her and this makes the difference. She cried as I was crying. She wanted me to understand that her empathy was with me at that stage. Such was, rather still is, a very delicate unnamed bond between us that sometimes words are not needed at all to convey certain feelings between us. In fact, I came to know of this bond that very day. She was sheer uncontrollable. All efforts, by all people, were futile to control or pacify her. Anger, love, greed nothing mattered to her except her mother’s cries. I was in dilemma. On one hand a new life was about to come and on the other hand an existing life so much in pain. I just don’t know how I controlled myself from running and embracing her to my bosom.

A new life came out and there was a joyous feeling all around but my eyes searched for my daughter who was still crying, though loud wails were replaced by sobs. She was brought to me and wonderstruck though she was with a new creature present beside me but what she focused on, was her mother. We held each other close and she stopped crying though sobs would come out intermittently, uncontrolled. Such a scene preceded the birth of life that brought happiness to us. I still can see her, thumb in her mouth, tears straining her cheeks, sobs making whole of her small body convulse! This picture came to my mind recently when I saw her in pain. And recently, once again I was reminded of the same old feeling of hurt, pain and anguish and the same cries and sobs.

But was it not just natural that pain and cries always precede a new life? I am sure that it announces something great at hand. Something good is about to come, something that will make us forget all the pain and the suffering. When I ask her today whether she remembers having cried so much that day—she carries a blank face as she doesn’t seem to carry even a slight trace of her anguish. How good indeed. It is matter of time and life will come to the same old pattern, rather it already has.

But all this pain signifies that something new is bound to happen. It is definitely the second coming, a life worth waiting for. All those feelings of hurt and pain that seem paramount today, would no more be even remembered when a life full of promise and happiness would be found. It is the second coming.

Surely some revelation is at hand;
Surely the Second Coming is at hand.

At every step of my life I could relate to these lines in various manners and could see the reason for the turmoil and unrest that precedes any thing well bound to happen. How prophetic the lines are for all!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

