Masked Appearances

A trust betrayed

A belief shattered

Make me look anew

At faces around me

With masks put on to rue

Vulnerable

Innocent

People.

Could I trust masks

around me?

Masks of different

Hues and colours

To dupe, deceive

And detour?

Or would I still

Search for an

Unmasked face

That would make

My hope live and sustain

The belief

In humanity

Love and purity

Of basic human nature

That would make

The world worth living

For people like me

Who trust

The unknown

The unseen

And feel battered

When deceived.

 

Leave a Reply

